Passage by Faith

PassageFaith

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had a lucky treat a couple weeks ago when I realized that James C. Christensen was in the BYU bookstore doing book signings on November 15th. I have really admired his work for a long time and was super excited to get a chance to meet him. My friend Kelsey and I made our way over and waited in the line to get a book signed and talk to one of our art heroes. I hadn’t even heard of the book beforehand but I knew I wanted it.

We finally made our way to the front of the line and got to talk to him a bit and mentioned being art students in the Illustration program at BYU. He gave us some good advice and said “Lean to draw!” He advocated the 10,000 hours theory and wrote it in my copy of his book to remind me. I left inspired to work harder.

Even better than that experience has been the pleasure of reading his book and studying his paintings. I am seriously in love with this book. It really uplifts me and helps me to understand how he creates the amazing paintings he does. Check it out!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

